Food Security Research Grant

Supports Indigenous-led research on food access inequality and cost of living in the north.

On this page

About the grant

The Food Security Research Grant will support Indigenous-led projects addressing food security and food access inequality in communities eligible under the Nutrition North Canada (NNC) program.

The grant supports research that will address critical data gaps and increase the evidence base with respect to food access inequality, the dynamics of existing federal food access programs and food insecurity among Indigenous Peoples living in isolated communities.

Indigenous partnership, ownership of information, knowledge transfer, capacity building and the guiding insights from traditional knowledge systems are an integral part of the design of the research grant. All research funded under the grant must either be directed by Indigenous stakeholders or conducted with clear partnerships between academics and Indigenous communities.

The first phase of the grant will run from 2022 to 2024 and will invest $1.5 million to generate new knowledge on the impact of the NNC retail subsidy on food security among Indigenous Peoples in isolated communities, and to inform improvements to the subsidy to support equitable access to store-bought food. Phase 1 will support research in the following research areas:

Proposals submitted under the first phase of the grant must demonstrate how the research, situated within an Indigenous or Northern context, will:

Proposals must be supported by subject-matter expertise in demographics, sociology, economics or statistics.

Funding and support

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) has a total of $1.5 million to support projects until March 31, 2024. The grant will support up to 100% of a recipient's total project costs and can provide a maximum of $250,000 per project. Stacking of funding (such as total government support for a project) cannot exceed 100% of project costs. CIRNAC will strive for an equitable allocation of funding that takes into account the diversity of Indigenous peoples (First Nations, Inuit and Métis) and geography of the communities served by NNC.

Who is eligible to apply?

Eligible applicants for the grant must meet one or more of the following criteria:

Additional information on community eligibility and a list of eligible communities.

Key dates

Funding will be released in late March or early April 2023.

How to apply

If you are interested in receiving more information and learning about next steps on how to apply for Nutrition North Canada's Food Security Research Grant, please contact the program for more information at nutritionnordcanada-nutritionnorthcanada@rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca by September 23, 2022.

Date modified:

Subvention de recherche sur la sécurité alimentaire

Soutien à la recherche dirigée par les Autochtones sur l'inégalité d'accès aux aliments et le coût de la vie dans le Nord.

Sur cette page

À propos de la subvention

La subvention de recherche sur la sécurité alimentaire servira à financer des projets dirigés par des Autochtones qui portent sur la sécurité alimentaire et l'inégalité d'accès aux aliments dans les communautés admissibles au programme Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC).

La subvention vise à appuyer la recherche qui permettra d'identifier les lacunes importantes en matière de données et d'enrichir la base de données probantes en ce qui concerne l'inégalité d'accès aux aliments, la dynamique des programmes fédéraux existants d'accès aux aliments et l'insécurité alimentaire chez les peuples autochtones vivant dans des communautés isolées.

Les partenariats avec les Autochtones, la propriété de l'information, le transfert de connaissances, le renforcement des capacités et les idées directrices issues des systèmes de connaissances traditionnelles font partie intégrante de la conception de la subvention de recherche. Tous les projets de recherche financés en vertu de la subvention doivent être dirigés par des intervenants autochtones ou menés dans le cadre de partenariats clairement définis entre le milieu universitaire et les communautés autochtones.

La première phase de la subvention se déroulera de 2022 à 2024 et comprendra un investissement de 1,5 million de dollars afin de produire de nouvelles connaissances sur les répercussions de la contribution au commerce de détail du programme NNC sur la sécurité alimentaire des peuples autochtones dans les communautés isolées,. De plus, cet investissement permettra d'orienter les améliorations à apporter à la contribution pour appuyer l'accès équitable aux aliments achetés en magasin. La phase 1 visera à appuyer la recherche dans les domaines suivants :

Les propositions soumises dans le cadre de la première phase de la subvention doivent démontrer comment la recherche, située dans un contexte autochtone ou nordique, permettra de :

Les propositions doivent s'appuyer sur une expertise en démographie, en sociologie, en économie ou en statistique.

Financement et soutien

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAANC) dispose de 1,5 million de dollars au total pour appuyer des projets jusqu'au 31 mars 2024. La subvention couvrira jusqu'à 100 % des coûts totaux du projet d'un bénéficiaire et peut atteindre un maximum de 250 000 $ par projet. Le cumul du financement (comme le soutien total du gouvernement pour un projet) ne peut pas dépasser 100 % des coûts du projet. RCAANC s'efforcera de répartir équitablement le financement en tenant compte de la diversité des peuples autochtones (Premières Nations, Inuit et Métis) et de la géographie des communautés desservies par NNC.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Les candidats admissibles à la subvention doivent répondre à un ou plusieurs des critères suivants :

Renseignements supplémentaires sur l'admissibilité des communautés et liste des communautés admissibles.

Dates importantes

Le financement sera versé à la fin de mars ou au début d'avril 2023.

Comment présenter une demande

Si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements et connaître les prochaines étapes à suivre pour présenter une demande de subvention de recherche sur la sécurité alimentaire de Nutrition Nord Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le programme à l'adresse nutritionnordcanada-nutritionnorthcanada@rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca d'ici le 23 septembre 2022.

Date de modification :