NNC Compliance Reports for 2015-2016

Under the Nutrition North Canada (NNC) program, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) monitors retailers' and suppliers' compliance of the terms and conditions outlined in the funding agreements between the recipients and the Department.

Using a risk-based analysis tool, INAC selected the following retailers and suppliers registered with the NNC program to undergo compliance assessments for the 2015-2016 fiscal year:

The compliance assessments were conducted by an independent third-party, Deloitte LLP. The purpose of the compliance assessments was to provide information on

More information on the purpose and objectives of these assessments can be found under compliance reviews.

Findings

Arctic Connection

Based on the procedures performed by Deloitte, the compliance assessment for Arctic Connection found that the full subsidy is being passed on to the consumer and that profit margins applied were not eroding the subsidy. However, Deloitte noted the need for additional controls; five recommendations for improvements were provided:

Recommendations

  1. Processing and Reporting Controls: Implement a process whereby there is an independent review of claims prior to submission to NNC for processing.  This has the potential to reduce the number of errors in the claims.
  2. Processing and Reporting Controls: The Recipient should ensure that the preparers and reviewers of claims are familiarized with the most recent NNC coding and obtain clarification from NNC representatives where coding classification is unclear.  This will ensure that claims are maximized for the consumer.
  3. Ineligible Clients: The Recipient should establish a process to ensure that the ultimate consumer is an eligible consumer per the terms and conditions of the program. We recommend that the Recipient implement a process to ensure that ineligible parties do not have access to goods shipped by the Recipient under the Nutrition North Canada program.
  4. Profit Margin: The Recipient should establish a clear policy in regards to profit margins in order to ensure that markups calculated on goods and invoices are correctly applied and do not erode the subsidy. The Recipient should be able to demonstrate that the margins do not erode the subsidies.
  5. Supply Chain: The Recipient should consider implementing a process to periodically review their agreed upon rates with preferred airlines with market rates published online in order to ensure they are shipping goods at the most cost-effective prices.

Status

NNC outlined the auditor's recommendations in a management letter to Arctic Connection, requesting that they provide an action plan to address the recommendations for improvement.

Arctic Co-Operatives Ltd.

Based on the procedures performed by Deloitte, the compliance assessment for Arctic Co-Operatives Ltd. noted no significant exceptions in the compliance with the program; however, Deloitte recommended improvements in the areas of Processing and Reporting Controls & Profit Margins and Pricing Methodology:

Recommendations

The Compliance Assessment Report has outlined specific recommendations for improvement:

  1. Processing and Reporting Controls & Profit Margins and Pricing Methodology: The Recipient should consider implementing data entry controls to ensure subsidy rates and eligibility as entered into the retail system are accurate and appropriate. The auditors noted that the full subsidy was passed to the member co-ops however; they were unable to observe pricing methodology as well as profit margins applied to determine retail prices to end users at the member co-op level. The auditors also noted that the recipient does not perform profit margin analysis to determine a markup on goods sold, as sales are made to member co-ops at cost plus freight and fees.

Status

NNC outlined the auditor's recommendation in a management letter to Arctic Co-Operatives Ltd., requesting that they provide an action plan to address the recommendation for improvement.

The Northern Shopper

Based on the procedures Deloitte performed, the compliance assessment for The Northern Shopper found that no significant exceptions were found in the compliance with the program; however, Deloitte noted the need for improvement in the areas of Processing and Reporting Controls & Profit Margins/Pricing Methodology:

Recommendations

  1. Processing and Reporting Controls & Profit Margins/Pricing Methodology: The Compliance Assessment Report describes the Auditor's observations, conclusions and recommendations for your organization. They found that the full subsidy is being passed on to the consumer but were not able to assess your pricing methodology as policies were inconsistently applied. Deloitte also noted the need to improve control environment in order to detect any errors that may occur before submission to NNC. They noted that a new process has been implemented to standardize pricing methodology and to provide an independent review of claims.

Status

NNC outlined the auditor's recommendations in a management letter to The Northern Shopper, requesting that they provide an action plan to address the recommendations for improvement.

Marché Central du Nord

Based on the procedures performed by Deloitte, the compliance assessment for Marché Central du Nord noted several exceptions in the compliance with the program. Deloitte noted the following areas for improvement:

Recommendations

  1. Processing and Reporting Controls: Address weaknesses in its data integrity within the inventory management system used for reporting (i.e. weights, eligible communities, subsidy rates). We recommend that the Recipient ensure that programmed NNC data is reviewed after data input in order to ensure the validity and accuracy of claimed amounts.
  2. Processing and Reporting Controls: Implement a process whereby there is an independent review of claims prior to submission to NNC for processing. This has the potential to reduce the number of errors in the claims.
  3. Ineligible Clients: Implement a process to ensure that the ultimate consumer is an eligible consumer according to the terms and conditions of the Program. We recommend that the Recipient implement a process to ensure that ineligible parties do not have access to goods shipped by the Recipient under the Nutrition North Canada program.
  4. Profit Margin: Establish a defined pricing policy (markups and fees) and implement controls to ensure consistent application of the policy in establishing customer sales prices.
  5. Profit Margin: Obtain and retain suppliers information related to the cost of goods to be able to consistently and accurately price products for sale.

Status

NNC outlined the auditor's recommendations in a management letter to Marché Central du Nord requesting that they provide an action plan to address the recommendations for improvement.

Meechim North 2000 Inc.

Based on the procedures performed by Deloitte, the compliance assessment for Meechim North 2000 Inc. found that no exceptions were found in the compliance with the program; but noted that an improvement could be made to the recipients Processing and Reporting Controls

Recommendations

  1. Processing and Reporting Controls: Implement a process whereby there is an independent review of claims prior to submission to NNC for processing. This has the potential to reduce the number of errors in the claims.

Status

NNC outlined the auditor's recommendation in a management letter to Meechim North 2000 Inc., requesting that they provide an action plan to address the recommendation for improvement.

Date modified:

Rapports sur la conformité de NNC pour 2015-2016

Dans le cadre du programme Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC), Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) surveille le respect par les détaillants et les fournisseurs des modalités des ententes de financement conclues entre les bénéficiaires et le Ministère.

À l'aide d'une analyse fondée sur les risques, AANC a sélectionné les détaillants et fournisseurs suivants inscrits au programme de NNC pour qu'ils fassent l'objet d'une évaluation de la conformité pour l'exercice 2015-2016 :

Les évaluations de la conformité ont été réalisées par une tierce partie indépendante, Deloitte LLP, et elles visaient à :

Vous trouverez plus de renseignements sur la raison d'être et les objectifs des évaluations de la conformité dans la section Évaluation de conformité.

Conclusions

Arctic Connection

Selon les procédés utilisés par Deloitte, l'évaluation de la conformité d'Arctic Connection a permis d'établir que le bénéficiaire fait profiter les consommateurs de la totalité de la contribution et que les marges de profit fixées n'amoindrissent pas la contribution. Cependant, Deloitte a relevé que cinq contrôles supplémentaires sont nécessaires, et cinq recommandations d'amélioration à apporter ont été formulées :

Recommandations

  1. Contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports : Mettre en place une procédure qui prévoit l'examen indépendant des demandes de paiement avant que ces dernières soient envoyées à NNC pour y être traitées. Cela pourrait réduire le nombre d'erreurs dans les demandes.
  2. Contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports : Le bénéficiaire doit s'assurer que les auteurs et les examinateurs des demandes de paiement connaissent les codes les plus récents de NNC et qu'ils obtiennent des précisions auprès des représentants de NNC lorsque la classification des codes n'est pas claire. Cela aura pour effet de maximiser les demandes de paiement pour le compte des consommateurs.
  3. Clients inadmissibles : Le bénéficiaire doit établir une procédure pour s'assurer que le consommateur final est un consommateur admissible selon les modalités du programme. Nous recommandons que le bénéficiaire mette en place une procédure pour empêcher les parties inadmissibles d'avoir accès aux biens qu'il expédie dans le cadre du programme Nutrition Nord Canada.
  4. Marge de profit : Le bénéficiaire doit établir une politique claire concernant les marges de profit afin que la majoration calculée pour les biens et les factures soit appliquée adéquatement, sans amoindrir la contribution. Le bénéficiaire doit être en mesure de démontrer que les marges de profit n'amoindrissent pas la contribution.
  5. Chaîne d'approvisionnement : Le bénéficiaire doit envisager de procéder à un examen périodique des taux convenus avec les compagnies aériennes par rapport aux taux du marché publiés dans le Web afin de s'assurer que les produits sont expédiés aux meilleurs prix.

État

NNC a souligné les recommandations du vérificateur dans une lettre de recommandations envoyée à Arctic Connection pour lui demander de fournir un plan d'action qui indiquera la façon dont l'organisation donnera suite aux recommandations.

Arctic Co-operatives Ltd.

Selon les procédés utilisés par Deloitte, l'évaluation de conformité d'Arctic Co-operatives Ltd. n'a relevé aucune exception importante à la conformité au programme. Cependant, Deloitte a recommandé des améliorations relativement aux contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports, aux marges de profit et à la méthode d'établissement des prix :

Recommandations

  1. Contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports, marges de profit et méthode d’établissement des prix : Le bénéficiaire doit envisager d’instaurer des mesures de contrôle pour la saisie des données afin que les taux de contribution et les listes d’admissibilité enregistrés dans le système de vente au détail soient exacts et appropriés. Les vérificateurs ont indiqué que la totalité de la contribution avait été transmise aux coopératives membres. Cependant, ils n’ont pas été en mesure de déterminer la méthode d’établissement des prix et les marges de profit appliquées pour établir les prix de détail payés par les consommateurs dans les coopératives membres. Les vérificateurs ont également indiqué que le bénéficiaire ne procédait pas à l’analyse des marges de profit afin de déterminer la majoration des prix des biens vendus, car les ventes sont faites à des coopératives membres au prix coûtant, plus les frais de transport et les autres frais.

État

NNC a souligné la recommandation du vérificateur dans une lettre de recommandation envoyée à Arctic Co-operatives Ltd. pour lui demander de fournir un plan d'action qui indiquera la façon dont l'organisation donnera suite à la recommandation.

The Northern Shopper

Selon les procédés utilisés par Deloitte, l'évaluation de conformité de The Northern Shopper a indiqué qu'aucune exception importante n'avait été relevée à la conformité au programme. Cependant, Deloitte a recommandé des améliorations relativement aux contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports, aux marges de profit et à la méthode d'établissement des prix :

Recommandations

  1. Contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports, marges de profit et méthode d'établissement des prix : Le rapport d'évaluation de la conformité contient les observations, les conclusions et les recommandations que les vérificateurs ont formulées à l'intention de votre organisation. Les vérificateurs ont constaté que la contribution était entièrement transférée aux consommateurs, mais ils n'ont pas été en mesure d'évaluer votre méthode d'établissement des prix, car les politiques n'étaient pas appliquées uniformément. Deloitte a aussi constaté la nécessité d'améliorer les mesures de contrôle afin de déceler les erreurs qui pourraient se glisser dans les documents avant qu'ils soient présentés à NNC. Ils ont toutefois constaté que vous avez instauré une nouvelle procédure dans le but d'uniformiser votre méthode d'établissement des prix et de faire examiner vos demandes de paiement par une tierce partie indépendante.

État

NNC a souligné la recommandation du vérificateur dans une lettre de recommandation envoyée à The Northern Shopper pour lui demander de fournir un plan d'action qui indiquera la façon dont l'organisation donnera suite à la recommandation.

Marché Central du Nord

Selon les procédés utilisés par Deloitte, l'évaluation de la conformité de Marché Central du Nord a relevé plusieurs exceptions à la conformité au programme. Deloitte a relevé que cinq recommandations d'amélioration à apporter ont été formulées :

Recommandations

  1. Contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports : Corriger les faiblesses relatives à l'intégrité des données dans le système de gestion de l'inventaire utilisé pour la production de rapports (p. ex., poids, collectivités admissibles et taux de contribution). Nous recommandons à ce que le bénéficiaire veille à ce que les données liées à Nutrition Nord Canada soient examinées après leur saisie dans le système afin d'assurer la validité et l'exactitude des montants réclamés.
  2. Contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports : Mettre en place un processus prévoyant l'examen indépendant des demandes avant que ces dernières ne soient envoyées à Nutrition Nord Canada aux fins de traitement. Cela pourrait contribuer à réduire le nombre d'erreurs dans les demandes. 
  3. Clients inadmissibles : Établir un processus permettant d'assurer l'admissibilité du consommateur final, selon les modalités du programme, de même qu'un processus visant à assurer que les parties non admissibles n'ont pas accès aux biens expédiés dans le cadre de Nutrition Nord Canada.
  4. Marge de profit : Établir une politique claire sur l'établissement des prix (majoration et frais) et mettre en œuvre des mesures de contrôle visant à assurer une application uniforme de la politique au moment d'établir les prix de vente aux consommateurs.
  5. Marge de profit : Obtenir auprès des fournisseurs des renseignements sur le coût des biens et les conserver afin d'être en mesure d'établir de façon uniforme et précise le prix des produits destinés à la vente.

État

NNC a souligné les recommandations du vérificateur dans une lettre de recommandations envoyée à Marché Central du Nord pour lui demander de fournir un plan d'action qui indiquera la façon dont l'organisation donnera suite aux recommandations.

Meechim North 2000 Inc.

Selon les procédés utilisés par Deloitte, l'évaluation de conformité de Meechim North 2000 Inc. n'a relevé aucune exception importante à la conformité au programme. Cependant, Deloitte a recommandé d'apporter une amélioration aux contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports du bénéficiaire :

Recommandations

  1. Contrôles des procédés et de l'établissement des rapports : Mettre en place une procédure qui prévoit un examen indépendant des demandes de paiement avant que ces dernières soient envoyées à NNC pour y être traitées. Cela pourrait réduire le nombre d'erreurs dans les demandes.

État

NNC a souligné la recommandation du vérificateur dans une lettre de recommandation envoyée à Meechim North 2000 Inc. pour lui demander de fournir un plan d'action qui indiquera la façon dont l'organisation donnera suite à la recommandation.

Date de modification :